Saccharomyces cerevisiae

I’m not much of a shopper.  I’m not a pack rat, nor do I put much emphasis on owning lots of things, but when it comes to yeast shopping, the female in me really comes out.

This week, thankfully, is the “pre-crush cellar-needs purchase week.”

Yeasts and bacteria were so uncontrollable until recently and now they are something we can order in a catalog.  Granted, there are wild guys in the air everywhere and no matter what you do, they play a role.  But these strains have been toughened up and under most conditions, sooner or later, they win.

So this week I get to choose, do I want good mouthfeel, soft tannins, forward fruit, full-bodied, spicy, high levels of polysaccharides, or minimal vegetal aromas.  Do I want something isolated from Saint Emillion or the Heiligenstein region of Austria?  It’s like traveling and tasting without moving.  It’s not only seeing years into the future, it’s carving it.

We are in the process of maybe trying to see what yeasts we have in the vineyard… but it’s more complicated than it sounds.  I’ll let you know how that goes.

Leave a Reply

